Millennium Development Goals

Right to Food • ICCARD and its Relevance
Voluntary Guidelines •  Millennium Development Goals 

Millennium Development Goals and its significance to food security

Adopted by world leaders in the year 2000 and set to be achieved by 2015, the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) provide concrete, numerical benchmarks for tackling extreme poverty in its many dimensions. The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) are eight international development goals that all 192 United Nations member states and at least 23 international organizations have agreed to achieve by the year 2015. They include eradicating extreme poverty, reducing child mortality rates, fighting disease epidemics such as AIDS, and developing a global partnership for development.

The MDGs also provide a framework for the entire international community to work together towards a common end - making sure that human development reaches everyone, everywhere. If these goals are achieved, world poverty will be cut by half, tens of millions of lives will be saved, and billions more people will have the opportunity to benefit from the global economy

The focus of FSNSA is Goal 1 which is to eradicate extreme poverty and hunger.

For details click:

See also:

Right to Food • ICCARD and its Relevance • Voluntary Guidelines